FOR SALE! 88 Astro Travel Van (DROPPED PRICE $1,000) fully equipped!

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1 Mon, 09/28/2015 - 20:58

FOR SALE! 88 Astro Travel Van (DROPPED PRICE $1,000) fully equipped!

So heres the story, or at least it so far.  My brother and I have been traveling with our beloved van for about 6 months now. We have traveled all the way to ushauia, chile and now are making our way north! Found the van on this site. We bought the van from a fellow American drove it down to Chile did a lot of work to the van to prep for the trip.  Three guys who graduated college in Sothern California bought this van at an auction.  It was a grade school van used for field trips, hence the relativley low milage (about 110,000).  Here's the original post.

"So here are some details on the car itself. I will try and lay it out very honestly as I am selling the car for not too much money.

The good

-super reliable engine, no overheats, doesn't burn oil, starts up easily even at high altitude and pretty good on gas

-best all terrain tires you can buy and plenty of life for the trip back and then some plus true spare

-good gas mileage (average about 24 with the box on top, but unloaded and without box I have averaged 25-28

-sweet rear deck that I built before leaving so that it would be easier to load surfboards, also serves as seat, wetsuit changing deck and what have you

-interior netting for holding clothes and other gear

-inverter for charging electronics

-5 gal water jug and place for holding it on table

-window covers for concealed sleeping and keeping heat out

-new clutch, transmission seal, and slave cylinder for clutch hydraullic system